Wednesday, September 29, 2010

Tim Macy, Screenwriter

by Pa Rock
Extremely Proud Parent

I am the parent of three adult children.  They have each pursued their own paths in life, and I am very proud - make that extremely proud - of each of them!

My youngest, Tim, called last weekend to let me know that he was a finalist in the highly prestigious Nicholl Screenwriting Fellowship Competition - or, in layman's terms, he is in the final ten of over 6,000 entrants!  Today the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (those good folks that present the annual Academy Awards) issued a press release on the competition.  It follows:

Academy Announces Nicholl Screenwriting Fellowship Finalists for 2010

Beverly Hills, CA (September 27, 2010) — Ten writers have been selected as finalists for the 25th annual Don and Gee Nicholl Fellowships in Screenwriting, presented by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. Their scripts will now be read and judged by the Academy’s Nicholl Committee, which may award as many as five of the prestigious $30,000 fellowships.
This year’s finalists are (listed alphabetically by author):

  • Art Corriveau, Santa Fe, New Mexico, “Nicky Flynn Finally Gets a Life”

  • Destin Daniel Cretton, San Diego, Calif., “Short Term 12”

  • Sebastian Davis, Los Angeles, Calif., “Drunk-Dialing”

  • Marvin Krueger, North Hollywood, Calif., “And Handled with a Chain”

  • Andrew Lanham, Austin, Texas, “The Jumper of Maine”

  • Tim Macy, Kansas City, Mo., “The Last Queen”

  • Micah Ranum, Beverly Hills, Calif., “A Good Hunter”

  • Cinthea Stahl, North Hollywood, Calif., “Identifying Marks”

  • Logan Steiner, Redondo Beach, Calif., “The Promise of Spring”

  • Sage Vanden Heuvel, Ann Arbor, Mich., “Inner Earth”
The finalists were selected from 6,304 scripts submitted for this year’s competition. The competition is open to any individual who has not sold or optioned a screenplay or teleplay for more than $5,000, or received a fellowship or prize that includes a “first look” clause, an option, or any other quid pro quo involving the writer’s work.
The Nicholl Committee, chaired by producer Gale Anne Hurd, is composed of writers Naomi Foner, Daniel Petrie, Jr., Tom Rickman and Dana Stevens; actor Eva Marie Saint; cinematographers John Bailey and Steven B. Poster; executive Bill Mechanic; producers Peter Samuelson and Robert W. Shapiro; and agent Ronald R. Mardigian.
Fellowships are awarded with the understanding that the recipients will each complete a feature-length screenplay during their fellowship year. The Academy acquires no rights to the works of Nicholl fellows and does not involve itself commercially in any way with their completed scripts.

Since the program’s inception in 1985, 113 fellowships have been awarded, and a number of fellows have achieved considerable success. Mike Rich, a 1998 fellow, wrote the upcoming “Secretariat.” Susannah Grant, a 1992 fellow, earned an Oscar nomination in 2000 for her “Erin Brockovich” screenplay. Andrew W. Marlowe, a 1992 fellow, created and executive produces ABC’s “Castle,” for which Terri Miller, also a 1992 fellow, is a writer-producer. “City Island,” which was written and directed by 1991 fellow Raymond De Felitta, premiered at the 2009 Berlin and Tribeca film festivals, and premiered theatrically in March of this year.

Several other Nicholl fellows have had success in the film industry; to read more about them, visit

Way to go, Tim!


Reed said...

That is just awesome...


Anonymous said...

How exciting!! What an accomplishment! Way to go Timmy!